The Journey

A blogger (Zach) commented, “sometimes in life I look so forward to a destination that I don’t appreciate the journey.” Yes, I know he was referring to our spiritual journey through life. And, I don’t discount that at all. I’m a spiritual person too. I don’t attend church anymore, but I do believe and have faith in our Heavenly Father. That’s another long Mormon epic story.  🙂

One can see the physical side of journeys too. The “smelling of the roses,” as we walk through our lives. In my childhood, we took our holidays by train, first steam (my brother and I got so dirty from sticking our heads out of the window), then diesel. It gave us a perspective of living in the so-called “now,” which wasn’t a thing in those days. It was usually two nights and two days spent traveling through various sceneries in South Africa. From a lush tropical region in East London on the east coast, to semi-arid regions of the Karoo, then to the Mediterranean weather region of Cape Town in the south-west.

DieselViewingCart001
Northern Explorer

The destination was family. Sometimes good, sometimes not so much.

I went on holiday to New Zealand in 2016, and took the Northern Explorer from Auckland to Wellington. The scenery was spectacular. Hills with cows and sheep, volcanoes, quaint towns with Victorian houses, the weird and wonderful flora. I couldn’t believe how many nasturtiums grow in New Zealand. They’re everywhere.

Volcano003
Volcano used in The Last Samurai

 

 

CowsGrazingAlongTrack001
Cows along the line

Leave a comment